The start of something special

Hello Everyone! 🙂

I am inspired to start my blog and write this recap of a great week.

I have had the pleasure to be in the presence of some significant speakers over the last week.  One is the Governor of New York, Andrew Cuomo, and another is the only black Mayor of New York City, David Dinkins.  Although I was just an observer, I got so see how the politically powerful make speeches and the influence that their words have.  They both have relatively formal styles of speaking, as compared to Barack Obama for example, but they are both engaging.  Mayor Dinkins had a great joke which went something like: a preacher was making a speech and he was going on and on about the topic.  A while into the speech a man got up to leave and, surprised at the man’s rudeness, the preacher asked where he was going.  The man replied that he was going for a haircut.  The preacher asked “shouldn’t you have done that before coming here?” and the man replied “I didn’t need a haircut before you started speaking.”  😀

The following few days, I went to a conference to polish my leadership, training and coaching skills with the prolific writer and speaker John C. Maxwell.  His executive team of speakers were on their “A” games.  If you have a chance to hear him speak, you should take full advantage of the opportunity.  He is a highly sought after (and paid) motivational speaker and his style is remarkable for it’s conversational, informal presentation. He is both instructional and inspiring in his style.

I am inspired to kick my speaking game up a notch and hope that you stick with me through my journey.  My plan is to keep you posted on my learning curve and success journey with posts, maybe some photos and, hopefully, some videos.

I am, slowly but surely, coming out of my comfort zone and as I grow I want to share the ride with you.  Let’s do this!!

This entry was posted in Speakers I admire, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment